yWriter5 | The Perfect Plotting Tool

20 Oct

Inspiration for Main Character

So I’ve been working hardcore on my plots today for NaNoWriMo, trying to get my outline together and settle more on the characters and exactly what is going to happen when. I’ve had a hell of a lot of ideas and keeping them in a notebook is, admittedly, my usual strategy. But I thought that this time I would attempt to do something different- and that something different consists of using software to plan, organize, and even write my novel!

So far I’ve set up all 26 of my chapters. I got some help from some people on the NaNoWriMo Forums for a couple of the letters I needed for chapters- and am (at the moment) only missing one chapter title. Awesome, isn’t it?

Now that I have all of my chapters in I’m working on some character profiles and basic notes about quirks & etc. I’m also doing a little bit of research about useless science degrees (useless for the setting of the novel anyway) for my character to have so that it makes sense for him to be a genius and working in the bakery. (He’s a lot like Sheldon Cooper- hence the photo above.)

I’m so excited for NaNo now that the plotting has begun! Full steam ahead!

5 Responses to “yWriter5 | The Perfect Plotting Tool”

  1. writtentessa October 22, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    Hi there! I’m doing NaNoWriMo as well. This is my first year doing it. Any suggestions?

    • Bethea October 22, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

      Everyone always says the hardest part is to basically turn off your inner editor. It’s hard to just write without overthinking it, but that’sjust what you have to do. I also increase my wordcount per day so that I don’t have to worry about getting out 1600 words per day- because, let’s face it, sometimes you just don’t want to write!

      I’m sure you’ll do great. NaNoWriMo is not as scary as it seems. Once you get started you’ll probably think it’s a piece of a cake!

  2. writtentessa October 22, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    Thanks!

  3. Celine Wu October 28, 2011 at 2:50 am #

    Hey, it’s my first year too.
    Reading about your planning made me feel so overwhelmed. But I admire you for your ability to plan things. I, for one, plan to write whatever comes to me at the time with a baseline of my mental outlining. Which probably won’t end well.
    Any tips for plot and whatnot?

    • Bethea October 28, 2011 at 2:58 am #

      I have actually gone “plotless” before. If you have some basic idea of what you want to do and where you want to go it can be helpful. I would definitely suggest jotting down the basic gist of things and ideas as they come to you so that you don’t forget them.

      There will always be time to edit after you’re done- so don’t get too hung up on the editting as you go, because that can really make you move slower.

      Some people actually are more successful without an outline to stick to. Getting too attached to an outline can be frustrating if your story starts naturally developing in a different direction.

Leave a Reply

