NaNoWriMo Update | 2 Weeks Away!

18 Oct

It’s hard for me to believe that NaNoWriMo is just around the corner! Only two weeks away- and I am already losing hope and steam- not good! I feel like I’m not nearly as prepared as I should be, but at the same time can’t seem to get myself to sit down and actually work on my plot. I think it has a lot to do with me being burnt out on life in general lately. I do forum based RPG and I have a lot of characters and help run the board, so that takes up a lot of time and makes me write a lot as it is. I think that might be zapping my creativity for NaNoWriMo, but we will see.

My goal is going to be to do a letter a day- which should give me a few days off in case I feel uninspired. (My chapter titles are going to be lettered A-Z for what I’m trying to do.) 26 letters in the alphabet, 30 days in November- that’s roughly one day off a week, unless I feel particularly inspired one day and do a couple of letters at a time.

I’m just worried I won’t be able to put my vision into words, too. Because in my head it plays like a movie, and I’m wondering if it would work as a movie script- if I knew how to write a script. Either way, I’m going to seriously bust my ass this year to not only win NaNoWriMo but to finally finish a novel. Even if it’s crap- as long it is on the page and finished I will probably be satisfied. (I hope I will be satisfied anyway!)

I know that a few of my friends are wanting to read it- so I’m thinking I will share it on GoogleDocs and let some of my writing ladies get a peek at it and see what they think about what I am working on. I don’t usually let people read what I write as far as fiction is concerned, because I feel like I’m not a very skilled author- certainly not as skilled as I once was. I’m so accustomed to writing for roleplaying purposes that I worry it might have affected my ability to write the way I want to for this particular project.

One Response to “NaNoWriMo Update | 2 Weeks Away!”

  1. MercXue October 25, 2011 at 12:31 am #

    don’t worry about the RPG writing interfering with your Nano goals. Just tune out that part of your during your Nano time or what might be even better is to base your Nano story around your RPG.

Leave a Reply

